icon: Apple iPhone 12 event: How to watch and what to expect photo 5


© Provided by Pocket-lint
Apple iPhone 12 event: How to watch and what to expect photo 5

(Pocket-lint) – Apple will launch the iPhone 12 family of phones tomorrow, Tuesday 13 October, during its “Hi, Speed” virtual event. And you will be able to watch it live right here.

There will likely be more than just iPhone too – with other products expected in an broadcast rumoured to last a couple of hours.

Fine out what time it starts and everything to expect below.

When is Apple’s event?

Apple’s event will take place tomorrow, Tuesday 13 October 2020, starting at 10am PDT – local time to Cupertino. Here are the different regional times:

  • US West: 10am PDT
  • US East: 1pm EDT
  • UK: 6pm BST
  • Central Europe: 7pm CEST
  • China (Beijing): 1am CST (16 September)
  • Japan: 2am JST (16 September)
  • Australia (Sydney): 3am AEST (16 September)

How to watch Apple’s event online

You can watch the event right here on Pocket-lint via the embedded video at the top of this page.

Alternatively, you will be able to watch it on your Apple TV, through the Apple Events app from the App Store for Apple TV, or you can stream from your iOS device via AirPlay. Just ensure it’s a second-generation Apple TV, with the latest Apple TV software or tvOS.

What to expect from Apple’s event

The star of the show will, of course, be the iPhone 12.

Apple’s next phone should actually be a lineup of four different handsets, each with new squared edges and support for 5G. You can expect a range in sizes between 5.4 inches to 6.7 inches. The company might unveil a number of other products, too, including over-ear AirPods, a cheaper HomePod, and AirTags.

iPhone 12

  • iPhone 12: Rumors, leaks, and everything we know so far

The annual refresh of the iPhone is one of the biggest events in tech: It’s the phone that many aspire to own, one that sets trends, and the phone that all others are looking to better. Apparently, we might even get several iPhone 12 models this year, and they’ll all have 5G. They are reported to be coming with a new design, too. Some renders show squarer edges more like the iPhone 4 or 5 compared to the rounded edges we have been used to since the iPhone 6.

So far, the latest rumours point to a 5.4-inch model, a 6.1-inch model, and a 6.7-inch (in place of the 5.8-inch, 6.1-inch, and 6.5-inch models we have at the moment). There may be two versions of the 6.1-inch handset – one a standard iPhone 12 and the other an iPhone 12 Pro.

The 5.4-inch model is said to be the iPhone 12 Mini.

AirPods Studio

  • AirPods Studio: Rumours, leaks, and everything we know so far

There is a small mountain of evidence to suggest Apple is developing a pair of high-end, wireless over-ear headphones that will be released shortly.

The over-ear headphones won’t be Beats headphones. Instead, they’ll be Apple-branded and may be called AirPods X or AirPods Studio. There’s been leaked iOS 14 code, reports from well-known Apple watchers, and even a Target listing all suggesting these headphones are real and coming soon. Most recently, Apple reportedly directed all its stores to stop carrying third-party headphones. Perhaps it’s yet another sign that Apple plans to expand the AirPods lineup.

HomePod 2

  • HomePod 2: Rumours, leaks, and everything we know so far

A smaller, cheaper HomePod speaker is expected to arrive by the second quarter of 2020. It rumoured to resemble the existing HomePod, but it’ll be mini, or about half the size. The HomePod sounds fantastic, but a common criticism is that the implementation of Siri leaves a little to be desired, and it’s far pricier than the competition. Apple will surely have to produce a second-generation HomePod to compete with its rivals, and it seems that time might finally be here.

The sales of Amazon Echo and Google Home devices show that there’s still a huge market for smart speakers. According to Strategy Analytics, Apple captured 4.7% of the smart speaker market in 2019, shipping around 2.6 million units in the run-up to Christmas. In contrast, Amazon has around 26%.

AirTags

  • AirTags: Rumours leaks, and everything we know so far

Apple is supposedly working on new products to rival Tile, a popular hardware tracker that attaches to items in order to locate them over Bluetooth or crowdsourcing. Similarly, Apple’s trackers, thought to be called AirTags, will allow users to locate lost or stolen items. The existence of these devices has been widely reported on by the media and leakers since last year. They’re expected to look like circular discs and should feature Apple’s ultra-wideband tech.

They’ll likely use the standard iOS Find My app, along with crowdsourcing, to precisely locate your devices, even in a room.

Is that it?

Well, there could be a few other surprises in store, perhaps even the first ARM-based Mac. Bookmark this page and check back on event day to learn more.

Source Article